2020 Italian F4 Championship Powered by Abarth – Minì is 2020 Champion


Gabriele Minì, Prema Powerteam driver, and part of the ACI Team Italia program, is the Italian F4 Championship Powered by Abarth 2020 title winner, the first Italian driver to win the title since it was created in 2014, when ACI Sport launched it at the international level to see the drivers from other countries beat them to the title. Not only that, Minì is in his first year of F4, in fact a Rookie.

In race 3 Minì started well from pole in front of Beganovic, then Hauger who immediately edged into third in front of Fornaroli, while Pizzi immediately recovered several positions to go seventh, with Montoya behind him, who thanks to the extraordinary work of the Prema mechanics was able to take to the track for race 3 despite his high speed crash and subsequent exit from race 2.

After the initial laps the safety car was scrambled after Shevyrtalov, on his F4 debut, crhaed out at the Variante Alta.

With 24 minutes left the race was restarted without much change in the order, but after a couple of laps Pizzi found a way past Bortoleto.

In front were Minì, Beganovic and Crawford, while Fornaroli was under attack from Edgar, and Pizzi was approached them from behind.

With 18 minutes left Edgar squeezed past Fornaroli at Villeneuve with a masterpiece of overtaking, while Pizzi is was also really close to Fornaroli. Then Crawford passed Beganovic taking advantage of the long straight to slipstream by, while Minì took advantage of everyone else’s distraction to open up a margin of over a second. In the meantime, Pizzi was unleashed and overtook Fornaroli in the Acque Minerali to finish fifth.

11 minutes from the end Crawford made an exceptional overtaking move on Minì and grabbed first place, with the Sicilian driver playing it cautiously as he kept one eye on the championship standings.

The order now was Crawford, from Minì, Edgar, Pizzi, Fornaroli and Montoya. The order was now pretty settled and at the finish it was still Crawford, Minì, Beganovic, Edgar, Pizzi, Fornaroli, Montoya and Bortoleto.

“I am extremely happy for the title, although I also wanted to win race 3, but I had to think about the championship. The new Formula Regional European Championship by Alpine next year is certainly very interesting, but Nicholas Todt will decide which one will be my next. He will certainly be able to indicate to me the best solution,” said Minì.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.