2011 Macau Grand Prix – Qualifying Race Grid

58th Macau Grand Prix, Macau, China, November 17th/20th 2011
© Lynne Waite and Stella-Maria Thomas


After all the penalties have been applied, here’s what the grid for the qualification race now looks like, Roberto Merhi (Prema Powerteam) has been penalised 7 grid places for causing a collision with Felix Rosenqvist (Mücke Motorsport), while Rosenqvist and Kevin Magnussen (Carlin) will start from the back row for ignoring yellow flags. The other penalties – for Laurens Vanthoor (Signature), Daniel Juncadella (Prema Powerteam), Carlos Sainz Jr. (Signature), Carlos Munoz (Signature) and Marko Asmer (Double R Racing) – are all 3 grid places for crossing the pit exit line with the exception of Hironobu Yasuda who did it twice and thus has a penalty of 6 grid places – except that he qualified last so he’s actually starting ahead of Mitch Evans (Double R Racing) and Jimmy Eriksson (Motopark) neither of whom set times in the dry session, and of course Rosenqvist and Magnussen. Makes sense?

Qualification Race Grid:

1st – No. 1, Marco Wittmann, GER, Signature, Dallara, Volkswagen

2nd – No. 22, Antonio Felix da Costa, POR, Hitech Racing, Dallara, Volkswagen

3rd – No. 26, Valtteri Bottas, FIN, Galaxy Double R Racing, Dallara, Mercedes

4th – No. 15, Alexander Sims, GBR, TOM’s, Dallara, Toyota

5th – No. 7, Felipe Nasr, BRA, Carlin, Dallara, Volkswagen

6th – No. 9, Carlos Huertas, COL, Carlin, Dallara, Volkswagen

7th – No. 20, Yuhi Sekiguchi, JPN, Mücke Motorsport, Dallara, Mercedes

8th – No. 11, Roberto Merhi, ESP, Prema Powerteam, Dallara, Mercedes#

9th – No. 2, Laurens Vanthoor, BEL, Signature, Dallara, Volkswagen*

10th – No. 28, Kimiya Sato, JPN, Motopark, Dallara, Volkswagen

11th – No. 12, Daniel Juncadella, ESP, Prema Powerteam, Dallara, Mercedes*

12th – No. 25, Marko Asmer, EST, Galaxy Double R Racing, Dallara, Mercedes*

13th – No. 4, Carlos Munoz, COL, Signature, Dallara, Volkswagen*

14th – No. 21, Pietro Fantin, BRA, Hitech Racing, Dallara, Volkswagen

15th – No. 10, Jazeman Jaafar, MAL, Carlin, Dallara, Volkswagen

16th – No. 3, Daniel Abt, GER, Signature, Dallara, Volkswagen

17th – No. 23, Hannes van Asseldonk, NED, Hitech Racing, Dallara, Volkswagen

18th – No. 32, Richie Stanaway, NZL, Van Amersfoort Racing, Dallara, Volkswagen

19th – No. 5, Carlos Sainz Jr, ESP, Signature, Dallara, Volkswagen*

20th – No. 17, William Buller, GBR, Fortec Motorsport, Dallara, Mercedes

21st – No. 14, Hideki Yamauchi, JPN, Toda racing, Dallara, Honda

22nd – No. 30, Hywel Lloyd, GBR, Sino Vision Racing, Dallara, Mercedes

23rd – No. 18, Lucas Foresti, BRA, Fortec Motorsport, Dallara, Mercedes

24th – No. 16, Richard Bradley, SIN, TOM’s, Dallara, Toyota

25th – No. 29, Adderly Fong, CHN, Sino Vision Racing, Dallara, Mercedes

26th – No. 6, Hironobu Yasuda, JPN, Three Bond Racing, Dallara, Nissan**

27th – No. 27, Jimmy Eriksson, SWE, Motopark, Dallara, Volkswagen

28th – No. 24, Mitch Evans, NZL, Double R Racing, Dallara, Mercedes

29th – No. 8, Kevin Magnussen, DEN, Carlin, Dallara, Volkswagen%

30th – No. 19, Felix Rosenqvist, SWE, Mücke Motorsport, Dallara, Mercedes*%

Regulation infringements in previous sessions:

#7 place grid penalty

*3 place grid penalty

** 6 place grid penalty

% Back of the grid penalty

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.